Archive for December 24, 2010

RUS patch 1.01b and RUS AI mod

Posted: December 24, 2010 in Rus Mod, Uncategorized

RUS AI mod isn’t part of the 1.01b patch, published this day on AGEOD forum.

If you’re willing to use yet the mod after having installed the new patch, you must install again the modded files.

I’ve downloaded the official patch , applied on the RUS version I’ve bought yesterday ( ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), then installed the mod: no compatability issues… ๐Ÿ™‚

IS RUS AI cheating?

Posted: December 24, 2010 in Mod Workshop

War n the East AI has officialy some help….

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=2661817

RUS vanilla AIย  ( my legitimate child ๐Ÿ™‚ ) has only one helper, for creating units. I sincerely hope it’s provisional as, let’s say, conditions of the release haven’t given time I need to tailor the AI to produce the right number and sort of units, especially infantry. But I feel I feel I will be able to remove itย  soon in the RUS mod ( my illegitimate child :- )).
Apart from that,AI has no bonuses in combat, movement or any other stuff. I’m myself testing AI without any difficulty bonus.. I don’t use historical attrition too, for the same reason belonging to production trouble.

For the rest, My advice is too to give a bonus to AI for Fog of War (+2 being the best IMHO). But it isn’t mandatory and players may choose to apply or not this bonus in the game options screen.

Funny…

Posted: December 24, 2010 in Life of the blog

At last I’ve understood how allow access for search engines to this blogย  ๐Ÿ™‚

A very interesting AAR

Posted: December 24, 2010 in Mod Workshop

is located here:

http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?t=19876

I will try in the version of the mod to adress the lack of interest displayed by AI to repair broken railiroads.

About AI passivity and lack of cavalry raids, I’m more helpless though.

The AI is rather poor for avoiding attrition ( and that’s why I can’t be assured RUS AI could play under historical attrition rules…) and I’m forced to ground AI in Winter . The other solution would be to give AI more ressoruces and units, but cheating this way will remain a last ditch solution if I can’t solve differently this. But the real solution is tied to the evolutionof the genric AGE AI. So ask AGEOD on this ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cavalry raids is too tied to the deficiencies if the genric AI, as it’s blantantly poor for organizing units. AI doesn’t know to build cavalry units…And there is no way to ease this problem with the script commands. Here too, you will have to ask AGEOD to improve the AGE engine on this. I’ve tried t use some leader definitions to help AI to form cavalry units, but the results are unfortunatly, but definitly very poor…

On the contrary, Azov capture can definitly be avoided and I will fix that fort he V5 of this mod.

Note: It seems He has lowered the cost of fortifications, considering the number of Fortifications built by him….Unfortunatly, AI doesn’t know in AGE to build fortifications. This could be scripted by events, butthe large size of Russia would request a very high number of events. Then There would be no real way to adjust the number of fortifications to the real ressource at AI disposal. And too much fortifications is just unhistorical for a Russian Civil War whose armies were notably poor at fortification works. The current entrenchment system for units is largely sufficient, and I can’t do nothing against such loopholes which are just dooming AI to defeat ๐Ÿ™‚

Merry Christmas !

And if you’re interested for trying new versions of the mod,ย  don’t forget to bookmark this blog or to subscribe, as the new versions of the mod will not be anymore announced on Ageod or Matrix forums ( too much workย  ๐Ÿ˜‰ )