Argh…I should read the AGEOD forum more closely

Posted: September 15, 2013 in Wargaming

As I was decided to buy the Parthian expansion, I took a plunge into the AJE forum. Apart it confirmed me there’s something fundamentally wrong in the combat system, indirectly at the source of some threads, I’ve learnt the map will be the same.

My God. The same scale. Any simulation would need scale to be downsized.

So I cancel my project to do some mod about. A bit disappointing.

BTW, if you Wonder if the coming game on the Spanish Civil War is Worth buying, I’m myself on the verge because one main question has not yet be raised: will the AI be able to form Fronts? AFter the first months of war waged by columns, the SPW mutated to a frontline fighting between large forces. Until now, the AGE AI has been unable to form front. I don’t doubt the AI has been updated for SPW, because the contrary would just limit the game to PBEM. However, as no precision has been provided on this key point, I prefer for now watch what is planned for.

Comments
  1. baris says:

    I had my doubts about AJE still didn’t play but will try it some time. About SWC it is very interesting topic but will look for further review.

  2. Dick says:

    Scale is one thing, but I’m interested to see how the cavalry-based Parthian armies will function in the expansion. The legions with their heavy infantry shouldn’t be able to deal with horse archers combined with cataphracts too easily.

    I’ll probably buy the expansion, because I can’t resist wargames about the ancient world.

    The Spanish Civil War game looks promising. Maybe that will be your next Ageod mod project? 🙂

    • Clovis says:

      So I Will hear your scouting reports about Parthian expansion 🙂
      For España, if the hard AI is unable to form fronts, I’ve no interest in. The first months are interesting, but the impossibility to have a single player game on the whole war with acceptable simulation flavor will keep my wallet closed.

  3. Dick says:

    I suppose the best way to measure the Parthian cavalry is to follow in Crassus’s footsteps and see what happens. If the result is a massacre of Parthian horse archers, then something is wrong. 🙂

    I hope they’ve been able to improve the AI for España. The Spanish Civil War would be a very interesting subject for a computer wargame.

    • Clovis says:

      It will not so blatant. What could happen is the same than in AJE: undecisive results with forces fighting several big battles a turn. The only screen of a batlle in the extension is here:

      http://www.matrixgames.com/products/513/details/ ( second image from the top left )

      No conclusion may be drawed for such small case, but I’m a somewhat puzzled by the weakness of deaths by arrows and the fact both sides kept their integrity after the battle.

  4. Dick says:

    Ah, you found a screenshot! Looking closely at that picture, it seems that there weren’t many horse archers involved in that battle, though the Parthians did otherwise have many more men than the Romans.

    We’ll know more next month after I’ve played the expansion. If we’re lucky, they’ve made improvements to the system. That should end up benefitting the rest of the game too, and not only Parthian campaigns. 🙂

Leave a Reply

