East and West

Posted: November 14, 2012 in AACW Mod, ROP mod, Rus Mod

Since SVF 2.0 progress has been delayed by the difficulties arisen with the release of the official legacy patch ( and I’m waiting a few more days before being sure the legacy patch will not be patched once more), I’ve got more time for FY and ROP. I’m expecting too the official announce about next AGEOD game , that could be AACW2. If so, modding AACW 1 would become rather pointless,. If not, keeping AACW on the old official engine could be superseded by a portage on a newer version of the engine. I will use my free time in the most proficient way. I’ve a growing interest both for the Finland scenario in RUS ( the AI files in the official release are mine, but with one more year of experience, I think it could be better done) and for Drang nach Osten.

Comments
  1. berto says:

    > I’ve a growing interest both for the Finland scenario in RUS ( the AI files in the official release are mine, but with one more year of experience, I think it could be better done) and for Drang nach Osten.

    Yes! Go for it!

    • Clovis says:

      BTW, for those wondering why I’m relaxing a bit my effort on AACW, I stick yet with my main principle: I mod to play. When you mod, or design , or sell a game for other reasons, you produce nothing more than a ode to yourself, in a vain search of congratulations and glory. When you play, you’re confronting yourself with the weaknesses of your game. When you design without playing, you’re generally ending by emphacize not only your ideas, but your own weak points. I would myself consider as rather negligeable some points like combat results, or some gfx glitches. When I play, I cure myself by confronting the real thing.

      SVF 2.0 with 1.17 represents a few weeks of work without being able to play. It has been the case since 4 weeks and adding a new period would certainly be too much. I will work on SVF in the next week but only after having reconcilied myself with the pleasure of playing. A solution to a real problem 🙂

      • Alex says:

        Oh, I didn’t mean to suggest SVF was dead. But I hope you’re right with AACW2 fixing atleast some of those issues.

  2. Alex says:

    What makes you think an announcement is imminent?

    • Clovis says:

      They said 2 months ago they would announce their new game in November. Then they seem to be a bit overloaded. I’ve noticed the last AJE patch has some unnecessary files in it, like one coming from the development program. On the contrary, there’s no files summarizing the last changes. So I guess they’re working full speed ahead on the next game…

      • Alex says:

        That would be some huge news. Would be a shame that SVF 2.0 would wind down, though 🙂

      • Clovis says:

        SVF 2.0 isn’t dead, just delayed. It will come either for the 1.17 or for an hypothetical AACW2.If by adventure, AGEOD is able to put a worthy AI and a AACW version without strange features like conscription from the start, of course, I wouldn’t need to develop SVF 2.0. Im’ sure AACW 2.0will not be just larger map, more regions, pancake supply, 35 regional decisions divided in 5 groups of 7 having very similar effects, unbalanced scenarios not fully playtested,and a few strange ideas developped by someone having as main source of historical reference the offcial forum.

Leave a Reply

