SVF 2.0 will be downloable by anyone.

Posted: August 31, 2012 in Mod Workshop

As the title suggests, I’ve wavered a long time to release SVF 2.0 in a more private way, by reserving it to only a small community. I ‘ve finally chosen the reverse, mainly because SVF 1.0 was downloable without restriction and it wouldn’t have been fair to not allow those having played the first version to get their hands on the second.

 

If SVF 2.0 is biult as fast As I hope, I should then do ROP. For this one, I’m yet thinking about an open or private release ( Baris, whatever my choice, you will get my modded ROP, no need to ask!). As a very primitive version of my event files are yet in the official version, I feel myself forced to deliver  a better version to all.

If ever I may in the end do some adaptations for WIA, NCP ( 1812, 1815, Spanish war) and AJE, these ones should be private. I don’t need to get as much players as possible, as I have more and more pleasure to create something valuable for a few committed persons, whose help has been invaluable ( which isn’t measured only by the number of reports). Contrary to the opinions of a few really stupid people painting the world to the colors of their mediocrity, I’ve no competitive goal, or petty revenge on RL to get thanks to fanboyism, virtual title or function in the game field. My mods are devoted to the satisfaction to play more interesting games, for me first, for those who have bought as often a game on a cherished period they want to be portrayed as rightly than possible.

 

Belive it or not, if the list of project is huge, no one could be more time-consuming than FY. By the map size and the number of factions, FY is the Frankenstein of my mod family, and almost to the point to reach the point of impossibility to manage. SVF 2.0 is so much easier and faster to write I fear sometimes to miss the boat : -). And yet SVF is much more developed than what I plan to mod in ROP….

 

Now the method is almost as perfect as possible ( even if SVF will try a few variation on AI events), the improvements on AI are fastened to a point I would have dreamed yet 2 years ago. Let’s add agelint, suppressing 85 % of the bugs, the event chains template I may use from FY to other mods, and I feel I’m lucky as in a few months, I will maybe have 3 games to play with increasing pleasure, thanks to those having supported this very tedious task by their free help.

Comments
  1. Wargamer says:

    What do you plan to do with ROP?

    Only AI?

    • Clovis says:

      There will be a version adding only AI stuff, and another wih one modification which should rebuke most :-). It would be unfair to force choice between better AI and play without this change. For the rest, I’m open to listen any ssuggestion. Not my most well-known period.

  2. Wargamer says:

    Yes of course, you have to know the conflict 😉

    The bibliography you used for SVF was huge, and also for RUS I guess.

    What do you mean with the 2nd version?

    • Clovis says:

      Bibliogarphy for RUS is much smaller, because I don’t read russian and French ANd ENglish production is much smaller than for ACW.

      SVF 2.0 will in the end maintain all the features of SVF 1.0. Some will maybe need modifications. I would like to add a few other events, for starting situation in Maryland by example; I can’t yet be affirmative, because I follow a path very different than creating first a game then add AI stuff.

      If I could design on AGE Askari ( my pet project about Eastern Africa WW1, but I need time and huge help for gfx), I would begin by map, models and units first of course,then scenarios. Then, before writing events and aoptions, I would first work on AI. When I would have seen how the AI performs, I would then write events.

      To go back to SVF, I’m waiting to assess if CSA AI may invade Pennsylvania. If it can, then I will write events about USA NM losses as long as CSA is present in force in USA core territory.

      So more on features later.

  3. Baris says:

    Eastern Africa WW1 ? very interesting.
    With succesfull design and AI in Fatal years, I think you are much adequate to design your own game.

    • Clovis says:

      time and gfx are the missing items in my basket for this one. Not the game would be one of these huge superproductions supporting pancake supply feature, but the map would in itseft take quite a few months to build, and I would need someone able to give it a polished look. Now, I ‘ve on my desk AACW, ROP, NCP, WIA, maybe AJE, just a 2 years schedule 😉

      • Baris says:

        I have uploaded the log ,scripts and save files with 2 turns backup. Maybe it will have an effect when try with the Siberians next time.

        I really like ww1 period I hope in future you design something from unknown theatres in ww1.

  4. Baris says:

    Definetely, with better AI those games will be much more playable and have much more life span. I think especially ROP and maybe WIA are the last samurai. I don’t think there will be many games published from Ageod or from any other company in future about those periods. But no one knows.

    I have read you have good day but unfortunately it is the same problem again. I have tried the back up 2 turns earlier.

  5. berto says:

    > My mods are devoted to the satisfaction to play more interesting games, for me first, for those who have bought as often a game on a cherished period they want to be portrayed as rightly than possible.

    And God help me, AGEOD makes the most interesting games.

    > I feel I’m lucky as in a few months, I will maybe have 3 games to play with increasing pleasure, thanks to those having supported this very tedious task by their free help.

    Yes, tedious tedious work it is.

    Thanks for your efforts. Without your mods, I would give up on AGEOD games yet again.

Leave a Reply

