Old Fenrir is right

Posted: January 5, 2012 in Rus Mod

http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?t=23439

 

After a few weeks of study? i’ve come to the conclusion Old Fenrir is right and the way to avoid destruction of small division lies in upping the cohesion losses done during battles, especially for artillery.

 

That isn’t something new, as I did it a years ago in SVF 1.0. But that is yet needed in the recent versions of the GAE engine.

 

I will do it. However, it’s a very large task, as I have to change value of about 700 models…Yes 7000, and for this one I would really have had some xls.

 

 

Comments
  1. Baris says:

    It is unfortunately very correct. I have tried some test games in WIA and ROP everything is more normal in battle casualties precisely speaking and without forgetting some leader abilities not correctly working. Fixing abilities is an easy task but the casualty rates indeed hampering enjoyment of the game and should be the top priority to fix. I hope you do some work.
    I have looked at the off/def fire values of unit models in ACW and it is similar to RUS. Maybe RUS map has more open terrain with more frontage?

  2. berto says:

    You don’t need no f’ing .xls DB!

    Change values in 700 (7000?) data files? Easy, piece of cake!

    I used to do that all the time for the Magna Mundi (then) mod project: Write Perl scripts to tweak and modify the mod data files en masse. Run the script, achieve results in seconds. Verified and vetted results, too.

    They called it: “Sorcery”. šŸ™‚

  3. Clovis says:

    As much I remember, I implemented my cohesion changes in SVF. AGEOD did after something to lower casulaties rate in offcial AACW on a different form.It’s now buried in the AACW forum, in 2008 threads.

    The key point is looking at the models files in AACW and RUS, or in the settings files;

    For my own, I felt their solution wasn’t as good than mine and I plan to foolow the same path than in SVF, ie upping all cohesion losses to force units to run away faster, and especially for artillery and tanks. If losses at battles are too low in the genral economy of fY, I will raise losses by attrition.

    • Pat Cleburne says:

      That was the crux of my poorly argued posts in the above thread. Low battle losses will take away some of the visceral thrill of a good victory. Oh well. We’ll see how it works.

Leave a Reply

